Climate Strike (#ClimateStrike)

On Friday 20th September, my eldest son and I joined in a global day of action. Fridays for Future (#FridaysForFuture), has become a massive movement orchestrated by young people around the world, who feel that world leaders are still not taking sufficient action to mitigate the effects of man-made climate change.

I wholeheartedly agree, and as a scientist, it is frustrating that despite the extremely vast pool of scientific data people are still questioning climate change.

I particularly enjoyed this paper by Cook et al., entitled ‘Consensus on Consensus’ https://iopscience.iop.org/article/10.1088/1748-9326/11/4/048002/pdf which goes into this issue in depth and concludes that the 97% consensus that Global climate change is caused by human activities and that it is occurring now and that it is a threat to society has been confirmed and reconfirmed and reconfirmed!

I think that means it’s time to stop questioning and start acting. As a mother of 2 young children, I am deeply afraid that if we don’t take strong action now, my boys are going to pay for it. So, if there is anything that I can do now to try and stop this happening – I’m certainly going to do it.

111

Climate Campaigning started for me over 10 years ago when the climate change (Scotland) Act was being introduced. By lobbying my MSPs/MPs, attending marches and campaigning with WWF, I fought with thousands of others to make the Act stronger and harder hitting. Yet still, 10 years later, not enough is being done. So young people across the globe are making themselves heard. Striking from school because they rightly fear that their future is in danger. So when I heard about the week of climate action, I knew I had to add my voice to this campaign.

I took annual leave from work and I collected my 6 year old from school (signing him out as on Climate Strike). We joined the crowds at the Meadows to march to parliament. I was totally overwhelmed by the sheer number of people that were there. I felt a great sense of pride at what these young people have accomplished. Never again can anyone say ‘I’m only one person-I can’t make a difference’. Well, I think it is clear that you’re not just one person fighting for change, and yes you can make a difference!

My son and I waved our placards and joined in the chants for Climate justice – NOW. The march proceeded from the Meadows along the royal mile (amazing seeing the crowds all the way up the royal mile) and finally stopped after we reached the Scottish Parliament. There were then several inspiring young people, speaking and informing the crowds of their continuing plans to keep climate change at the top of the political agenda.

222

Following this week of action it was announced that changes to the Scottish Climate change bill had been approved. This bought forward the net -zero emissions target to 2045 and has increased interim targets for 2030 and 2040. https://www.gov.scot/policies/climate-change/climate-change-bill/

It has also been pledged to hold a citizens assembly on how to tackle climate change. These are all positive steps, but it seems we have to push constantly to get things to change, and they change very slowly. So why not check out the WWF’s useful guide on what you can do to help save the planet at: https://www.wwf.org.uk/thingsyoucando

As an individual some really easy things you can do are:

  • Get a re-usable water bottle and coffee cup
  • Get a Bamboo toothbrush
  • Use recycled tissues and toilet roll
  • Use shampoo bars and soap bars
  • Buy unpackaged fruit and veg
  • Take the bus/walk or cycle when you can

333In the ECRF Genetics lab we are always looking for ways to make our lab more sustainable. We have a Gold Sustainability Award https://www.ed.ac.uk/sustainability/what-we-do/awards and will continue to find additional ways to cut lab waste. Always remember that small actions soon add up and one person can make a HUGE difference.

 Tammy is a part-time research technician at the ECRF Genetics Core and a full-time Mum of 2 boys. Passionate about Sustainability and eco-issues she is a member of the ECRF Sustainability committee which is committed to ‘greening’ the workplace and improving staff well-being.   

Leave a comment